I graduated!

….about 3 months ago. Oh well, better late than never, right? If you’ve read some of my posts from the way beginning, you know that freshman year of college was HELL. Sophomore year was better because I got to go abroad. And then finally, junior year is where I hit my stride. Senior year? Couldn’t have been better.

I was recently asked by someone to share some advice I would give to my freshman year self. She was compiling it into a book for someone who was starting college, and I honestly think that’s such a great gift! But, the advice I would give to my freshman year self is to KEEP GOING. Nobody knows what they are doing in college. So if you think you’re doing something right, then keep going and doing that thing. Don’t let other people influence your decisions (unless, of course, you are doing something highly illegal and very destructive – then please, get some influence).

And if it turns out that you were doing something and that thing didn’t turn out then stop, but then try a different way. For example, I thought I knew how to study. Or that I was smart enough that I didn’t need to study. Well, I ended up doing pretty terrible on a couple of tests and then I realized that the way I thought I was studying was totally wrong for me. But, I kept going. And in May, I graduated.

Sure, I didn’t graduate with any honors or even an amazing GPA. But I LEARNED. And isn’t that what college is supposed to be about?

xo, Martha

Related college article I just read about sex on campus: here. Idk, could be useful. Below: my alma mater. P.S. Do I have to change my URL now?

Image result for university of minnesota

Leave a Reply

