#HarryPotter20

Today, June 26 2017, marks the 20th anniversary of the release of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s (or Philosopher’s if you want to be like that) Stone.

Even though I was 3 years old when the book was released, I still count it as one of the most important book and series of my life. Here’s a short list why:

  • It was my first long book that I read by myself. I felt so accomplished that I finally read a chapter book with small-ish font!
  • Because of that, I credit Harry Potter with my love of reading. A lot of my friends say that they never read anything, and that makes me really sad. Books allow you to  do so many things, and people who haven’t yet discovered that probably aren’t reading very good books.
  • I have bonded with people over Harry Potter. Feel like you don’t have a lot in common? Ask someone what their favorite book is. They might say Harry Potter, and you pretty much can have a 30 minute discussion about the books, movies, and your favorite characters.
  • It sparked a sense of adventure in me. Granted, I don’t own a wand and live in Europe, but I can see the world and still think that is magic enough for me.
  • It provides me with an escape – during some difficult periods in my life I like to turn to something familiar. Harry Potter lets me sink into the familiar story and let me escape my problems for a while.
  • Hermione Granger, Ginny Weasley, Tonks, Minerva McGonagall, to name a few. Strong females forever.
  • It taught me that being curious isn’t always a bad thing. Yeah, Harry and pals got in a lot of trouble (looking at you, Fred and George) but they learned more about life than school probably taught them.
  • As Hermione and Ron and Harry grew up, so did I! It was a cool aspect of the series to see your characters grow up and deal with different challenges as I dealt with the challenges my own life dealt me.

These are just some of the reasons why I love Harry Potter. The best thing? Everyone who has read the books loves them for different reasons than I do – and that’s why the books have been so successful and have created a community around them.

-Martha

Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home…

 

2 thoughts on “#HarryPotter20

Leave a Reply

